The Suffolk-Nansemond Chapter of the Izaak Walton League of America, chartered in June of 1954, is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization dedicated to the conservation, maintenance and protection of the soil, forest, water, and other natural resources of the city of Suffolk, VA and surrounding areas; and to promoting means and opportunities for educating the public about their enjoyment and wholesome utilization.

We are proud of our Members’ accomplishments each year. At the regular monthly dinner meeting each September, we present the annual Tobin award. There is only one Tobin Award given by the chapter each year. The award recognizes the chapter’s most outstanding and dedicated member for contributions made throughout the year.

This year, on September 21st, 2020, the Tobin award for 2019 was presented to chapter Ike Jonathan Echols.  Due to meeting restrictions imposed by COVID-19, the award was presented to Jonathan virtually via a remote video session by chapter president Powell.

Jonathan Echols Tobin Award

Jonathan Echols consistently participates in our chapter’s conservation projects and outdoor projects such as our bi-annual park maintenance day, our annual Teddy Bear hunt and our adopt a highway program. He has demonstrated his commitment to our chapter through his participation in our annual Pancake Supper fundraiser and ticket sales for our Scholarship Fund raising raffle, and has helped out with many cooking committee functions. He not only assisted but personally organized and executed a very successful chapter fish fry. He rolls up his sleeves and just pitches in to get things done.  For more information on Jonathan’s award, see Jonathan’s Tobin Award.

Allen Kiger (on the right) is presented the Tobin Award by Award Chair Tim Doxey (on the left)

In the previous year, 2019, Tim Doxey, Award Chair, presented the Tobin award for 2018 to chapter Ike Allen Kiger. Allen is currently serving on the chapter’s Board of Directors and is our chapter’s scout troop activities coordinator, as well as chief liaison for all chapter-sponsored eagle scout projects.  For more information on Allen’s award, see Allen’s Tobin Award.


The year before that, in 2018, Tim Doxey, Award chair, presented the Tobin award for 2017 to Gary Brown.  Gary is currently serving on the Board of Directors and is the Conservation Committee chair and Fundraiser chair.   For more information on Gary’s award, see Gary’s Tobin Award.

We encourage you to take a few moments to browse this website at your leisure to find our more about our Chapter.

To browse through Chapter awards from previous years in chronological sequence, filter on the Awards category from the News articles submenu.



Comments are closed.